Search

Florida Graduated Driver Licensing: What you need to know about GDL Laws.


Graduated Drivers Licensing laws now exist in all 50 states and District of Columbia and these laws require parents to participate more in the teen driving and licensing process. GDL laws reduce accidents between 10% and 30% and studies show that parental involvement significantly helps teens become safe and skilled drivers. However, fewer than 10% of parents completely understand their role in the GDL process. The State of Florida has adopted a tiered program with age and experience related regulations that are outlined below:
  • Learners License with Supervised Driving
  • Intermediate Drivers License–restricted driving within guidelines after passing the exam
  • Drivers License–full privileges after successfully transitioning through earlier phases

To earn a Learner License in the State of Florida:

Applicant must be 15 years old.

Applicant must provide:
  • Proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. GDL Institute.org will electronically transmit your completion status to the State of Florida at no charge.
  • Parental Consent form–download one from ‘Parent Resources’ at GDL Institute.org–signed by you and your parent in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if your parent will not be with you.
  • Documents to establish 1) proof of identity, 2) proof of social security number and 3) two proofs of residential address.
    1. One Proof of Identity: For Example--Birth certificate, US Passport or Passport Card, Certificate of Naturalization, Certificate of Citizenship.
    2. One Proof of Social Security: For Example--Social Security Card, Paycheck/stub, W-2 Form, SSA-1099, any 1099.
    3. Two Proofs of Residential Address: For Example--Deed, Mortgage statement, Florida Vehicle Registration, Two Proofs from Applicant's Parent, Medical or Health Card with address, W-2 or 1099 Forms. Please see State of Florida website for complete list.
Applicant is required to take a written test covering:
  • Road Rules/Signs: 50 multiple choice questions about traffic laws and road signs. You must answer a minimum of 40 questions correctly to pass the exam.
  • Vision Test using an eye machine. You must have 20/40 vision or better in both eyes and in each eye separately. Corrective lenses are OK.
  • Hearing Test
With a State of Florida Learners License you may:
  • Only drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10:00PM thereafter. You may only drive with a licensed driver who is 21 or older and sitting in the front passenger seat.

To Earn a State of Florida Intermediate Operator's License--16 and 17 years old:

  • To earn an operator's license you must be at least 16 years old and have held a Learners License for at least one year with no traffic convictions.
  • You must provide a Florida Learners License or a license from another jurisdiction.
  • You must show parent or guardian certification that you have at least 50 hours of behind the wheel driving experience, of which 10 must be at night. Download a handy Drivers Log worksheet to keep track of your driving hours on the GDL Institute.org homepage under ‘Parent Resources’.
  • You must take a driving test and perform certain driving maneuvers. You are required to have current registration and proof of insurance in the vehicle at the driving test.
  • With your State of Florida Intermediate License you may:
    • 16 years old: Only drive between 6:00 AM and 11:00 PM unless accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age who occupies the front passenger seat. Or you are traveling between home and work.
    • 17 years old: Only drive between 5:00 AM and 1:00 AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old who occupies the front passenger seat. Or you are traveling between home and work.
Some examples of infractions that can cause you to lose or restrict your driving privileges:
  • If you receive a moving traffic conviction while you have a Learners License, the one year period will be extended to one year from the date of the conviction or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
  • If you receive 6 points on your driving record within a 12 month period your driving privileges are automatically restricted to business purposes only for 12 months, or until you turn 18, whichever comes first. If you receive additional points during the restricted period the restricted period is extended by 90 days for each additional point.
  • Zero tolerance for DUI. If you are under 21 and have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more an administrative suspension of six months will result for first offense. Second offense will result in a one year suspension. Refusal to submit for testing results in a suspension of 12 months for first offense, 18 months for second offense.
  • If you are truant in your school attendance your driving privileges will be suspended until you provide proof that you have attended school for 30 days.
Please find additional information and resources on the State of Florida website.



Drug and Alcohol Course and Permit Exam

Purchase Course